London Critics’ Circle crowns Boyhood

Boyhood impressed at the London Critics’ Circle Awards, having taken home the gong for Film of the Year.

Boyhood won a trio of trophies at the London Critics’ Circle Awards this weekend.

The Richard Linklater-directed drama took home gongs for Director of the Year and Film of the Year. Boyhood star Patricia Arquette also picked up a trophy in the Supporting Actress of the Year category.

Boyhood, which was shot over the course of 12 years, originally received four London Critics’ Circle Awards nominations, but leading man Ethan Hawke lost out in the Supporting Actor of the Year category to J.K. Simmons of Whiplash.

Rosamund Pike continued on her winning streak this awards season, picking up the London Critics’ Circle gong for British Actress of the Year. She was recognised with the honour for her work in Gone Girl and What We Did on Our Holiday. Rosamund has scooped up 16 wins this awards season so far and she is also nominated for a Satellite, Screen Actors Guild (SAG), BAFTA and Academy Award.

Mr. Turner, the biopic of eccentric British painter J.M.W. Turner was nominated for seven London Film Critics' Circle Awards this year, but only came away with one trophy. Leading man Timothy Spall picked up the British Actor of the Year award for his work as the protagonist.

The gorgeous star-studded ceremony took place at London’s May Fair Hotel on Sunday afternoon.

Complete list of 35th London Critics' Circle Film Awards winners:

Film of the Year - Boyhood

Foreign Language Film of the Year - Leviathan

British Film of the Year - Under the Skin

Documentary of the Year - Citizenfour

Actor of the Year - Michael Keaton - Birdman

Actress of the Year - Julianne Moore - Still Alice

Supporting Actor of the Year - JK Simmons - Whiplash

Supporting Actress of the Year - Patricia Arquette - Boyhood

British Actor of the Year - Timothy Spall - Mr Turner

British Actress of the Year - Rosamund Pike - Gone Girl & What We Did on Our Holiday

Young British Performer of the Year - Alex Lawther - The Imitation Game

Director of the Year - Richard Linklater - Boyhood

Screenwriter of the Year - Wes Anderson - The Grand Budapest Hotel

Breakthrough British Filmmaker - Yann Demange - '71

Technical Achievement Award - Under the Skin - Mica Levi, score

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film - Miranda Richardson

© Cover Media

Tell us what you think...